Please ignore this javascript. This is for analytics tracking. Alumnus to Receive Remington Honor Medal | University of the Sciences | Philadelphia, PA

Alumnus to Receive Remington Honor Medal

Published on December 2, 2021

Peter H. Vlasses P'71 PharmD'73The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) has announced that Peter H. Vlasses P'71 PharmD'73 will receive the 2022 Remington Honor Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the APhA.

Vlasses has served in many roles throughout his accomplished career and is currently the Executive Director Emeritus of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) following his 20-year term as the ACPE Executive Director. He was selected for this honor due to his extensive service to the profession as a leader who had a touch on many areas of pharmacy practice, especially pharmacy education, on a global level. Before his time with ACPE, Vlasses started his career in hospital practice as a clinical pharmacy instructor before transitioning into various academic and clinical practice advancement positions. Vlasses is a BSc and PharmD graduate of the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science.

The Remington Honor Medal, named for eminent community pharmacist, manufacturer, and educator Joseph P. Remington, was established in 1918 to recognize distinguished service on behalf of American pharmacy during the preceding years, culminating in the past year or during a long period of outstanding activity or fruitful achievement. Vlasses will be officially recognized during the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in San Antonio, March 18-21, 2022. The APhA awards and honors program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy.

Vlasses’ innovative approach to pharmacy education has had an impact globally, in part due to his vision for a Continuing Professional Development model for lifelong learning and his initiative in working with other countries to transition to more clinically focused education curricula and more patient-centered pharmacy practice. “No one has been more influential in the transformation of our pharmacy educational outcomes in this country and abroad.” “He recognized the greater role that pharmacists could play in healthcare delivery and - more importantly - envisioned and implemented the strategies and changes needed to make this happen,” writes one of his nominators. Vlasses has championed interprofessional education and continuing education for pharmacists. 

As a testament to his prosperous career, there are over 100 research papers with Vlasses listed as an author, and he has rightfully earned recognition through approximately 30 awards and honors. Included in his accolades are the inaugural Esteemed Collaborator Award from the National Association of Board of Pharmacy, Honorary Doctor of Science degree from Mercer University, Board of Directors Distinguished Service Award from the American Association

of Colleges of Pharmacy, and the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education Pioneer Award. Vlasses previously served in professor roles for both colleges of pharmacy and colleges of medicine.


About the American Pharmacists Association

The American Pharmacists Association is the only organization advancing the entire pharmacy profession. Our expert staff, and strong volunteer leadership, including many experienced pharmacists, allow us to deliver vital leadership to help pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians find success and satisfaction in their work while advocating for changes that benefit them, their patients, and their communities. For more information, please visit

Categories: News, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, Alumni, Awards and Honors