Close Alert

Return to Campus Update

Coronavirus (COVID-19): The latest updates about USciences return to campus: The full plan for a phased return of employees and students:

2020 Alumni Association Annual Award Ceremony

By Casey Ryan
Director, Alumni Relations

Published on October 23, 2020

USciences marked an unconventional, virtual Reunion event with the annual The Alumni Association Award Ceremony on Saturday, October 10, to recognize the achievements of four outstanding alumni.

Joseph Betz  BI'76, MS'83 PhD'88The Annual Alumnus Award was presented to Joseph Betz  BI'76, MS'83 PhD'88. The award is bestowed upon a person who has been distinguished by having contributed in outstanding fashion to their profession, to science and/or to mankind.

Dr. Betz serves as Acting Director of the Office of Dietary Supplements where he oversees efforts to promote development of validated analytical methods and reference materials for dietary supplements. Prior to joining NIH, he spent 12 years as a research chemist at FDA’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition and two years as the Vice President for Scientific and Technical Affairs at the American Herbal Products Association. 

The Ivor Griffith Service Award was presented to alumna Lucy Malmberg P’72 HonDSc’20. The award is bestowed upon the person who shall have graduated from the University and who shall have been distinguished primarily by having voluntarily given his or her time and service in outstanding fashion to the University either directly or through his or her activity in the University of the Sciences Alumni Association.

 Lucy Malmberg P’72 HonDSc’20Mrs. Malmberg hasfound success in industry, as a community pharmacist, and as an entrepreneur building the largest animal health compounding pharmacy in the country -- serving as the Chairman of the Board and Co-Founder of Wedgewood Pharmacy. 

Through her 40 years plus of working in the industry, she has always cited that her love for Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and USciences keeps her really committed to this place. 

For Mrs. Malmberg, her philanthropy honors those she has lost—George, her husband and her parents –  and she honors them by living out their examples of giving.

The Young Alumnus Award was presented to Christine Thomas Roussel PH/TX’03 PharmD’06. The award is bestowed annually upon an alumnus who is less than 40 years old, who shall have received his/her most recent degree within the last 15 years and who shall have been distinguished by having contributed in outstanding fashion to the professions, to science, and/or mankind.Christine Thomas Roussel PH/TX’03 PharmD’06

Dr. Roussel is Director of Pharmacy at Doylestown Hospital; facilitator, content author and consultant for Medisca LP3 Network; and Program Director for USciences Medical Cannabis Education Program for Healthcare Providers. She provides over 100 hours of education to pharmacists, physicians, and nurses each year.  

Dr. Roussel focuses on occupational exposure to hazardous drugs, sterile/non-sterile compounding, Medical Cannabis, and clinical and legislative topics, such as opioid stewardship, drug diversion prevention, pharmaceutical waste and contamination.  She is a consultant for cleanroom facility design.  

James McKee, professor of chemistry, was presented the Honorary Alumnus Award. He joined the faculty in 1977 after completing his doctorate at University of Maryland and has been working in research throughout his career here. Currently Dr. McKee is focusing on the preparation and antibiotic activity of sulfonanilides and sulfones; and the use of the trihalomethyl group to prepare therapeutic compounds.

James McKeeHis research in some of the earliest - and still useful - antibiotics has led him to think innovatively about some of the worst health crises in the world. Due to the availability of sulfonanilides and sulfones, his research explores developing ways to study their potential as anti-HIV agents.


For a full list of award winners from this year and years past, please visit our alumni awards webpage.  

Categories: News, Alumni, Awards and Honors, Event