Please ignore this javascript. This is for analytics tracking. USciences Announces College Restructuring for 2018-19 | University of the Sciences | Philadelphia, PA

USciences Announces College Restructuring for 2018-19

University of the Sciences has announced a restructuring that will reduce its structure to three colleges beginning July 1, 2018, for the 2018-2019 academic year. The main element of the restructure is the elimination of Mayes College of Healthcare Business and Policy with its programs being repositioned to the other colleges. 

“At the conclusion of the Program Review process in June 2017, President Paul Katz determined that college restructuring would be one of the University’s strategic initiatives and a priority task for 2017-18,” Peter Miller, PhD, PT, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said. “Consideration of restructuring has been made necessary by a confluence of external and internal factors—the increasingly disruptive environment in higher education that has challenged institutions to rethink their traditional organizational models and operational processes, and the convergent findings of our Program Review and studies on our campus culture and organization.”

Using the findings from various groups and reports, a proposal for academic restructuring was presented to the Board of Trustees for their review and endorsement. The Board unanimously endorsed this restructuring at their February 15, 2018, meeting, and is pending approval from the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

The elements of this restructuring are as follows:

“The most difficult decision in this restructuring has been the dissolution of Mayes College, which is marking its 10th anniversary this year,” Dr. Miller said. “Since its founding, Mayes College has developed educational programs, scholarly activity, and numerous partnerships all focused on preparing students and professionals to practice successfully in an increasingly complex and dynamic healthcare environment. However, its small scale has been an impediment to enrollment growth, which we believe can be aided by positioning its programs in the other colleges. I am very grateful for Mayes College Dean Andrew Peterson’s leadership and collegiality throughout this process, and I am happy that he will be retaining a leadership role at the University as the executive director of the Substance Use Disorder Institute.”

Current Mayes College students in the affected programs will still have the choice to graduate from Mayes College (on their diploma) after the implementation.

“The University must continually adapt its structures and programming in order to grow our enrollment, diversify our offerings and revenue sources, and maintain the high quality of our academic programs,” Dr. Miller said. “This restructuring is a step in that direction as we pursue our vision for the future—a higher education institution of choice for the sciences and health professions, featured by high quality, innovative, and flexible programs for a diverse student body.”

Categories: Announcement, News, Alumni, Board of Trustees, Academics, Mayes College, Department of Health Policy, Health Policy, Public Health, Department of Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Business, Pharmaceutical and Healthcare Business, Biomedical Writing, Writing Program, Misher College, Department of Behavioral Sciences, Department of Physical Education, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, Samson College, Department of Kinesiology