Students Inducted into the Physics Honor Society

By Jenna Pizzi

Sigma Pi Sigma inductees.Five physics students and three others were inducted into the USciences Chapter of the Sigma Pi Sigma honor society on Tuesday, May 2, 2017.

Admission to the Honor Society of Sigma Pi Sigma is by invitation only and requires nomination by a chapter in accordance with the bylaws of both chapter and national Society. Both require superior scholarship in physics and good character as criteria for membership.

Sigma Pi Sigma honors outstanding scholarship in physics and encourages interest in physics among students. The society also provides an attitude of service towards fellow students, colleagues, and the public; and a fellowship of those who have excelled in physics.

Sigma Pi Sigma was founded as a local honor organization at Davidson College, NC, on December 11, 1921. In 1968, ΣΠΣ joined with the American Institute of Physics (AIP) Student Sections to form the Society of Physics Students (SPS), within which it now operates. Today, it is national in scope, with over 500 active chapters across the country and over 70,000 members inducted since its inception. It is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS).  Notable members include Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, John Bardeen, Leon Lederman, Edwin Land and Robert Ballard.

The 2017 inductees include:

Kacy Catalano Phys’17

Katee Coffman Phys’17

Luke Conover Phys’17

Katee O’Malley Phys’17

Kenneth Wong Phys’17

Melissa Lamberto Phys’11

Kirtley Watts, PURATOS Corporation

Gerald Jennings, a teacher at Phoenixville Area High School

Categories: Students, Awards and Honors, Misher College, Physics, Department of Mathematics