Please ignore this javascript. This is for analytics tracking. Longtime Pharmaceutics Prof Receives Faculty Award of Merit at USciences | University of the Sciences | Philadelphia, PA

Longtime Pharmaceutics Prof Receives Faculty Award of Merit at USciences

By Brian Kirschner

merit award winner

University of the Sciences proudly presented longtime pharmaceutics professor Dr. Clyde M. Ofner, III, with the 2016 Faculty Award of Merit during its 195th Founders’ Day Ceremony on Thursday, Feb. 18.

“Dr. Ofner has developed a number of research projects in drug delivery which focus primarily on the treatment of cancer,” said USciences Interim President Dr. Kathleen R. Mayes. “He truly exemplifies the innovative and entrepreneurial spirit of USciences’ founders.”

Since his arrival to USciences nearly 30 years ago, Dr. Ofner has secured more than 30 grants and contracts for his research and development in pharmaceutical sciences—totaling more than $1 million. His research was recently recognized with a patent on an innovative drug delivery system for the treatment of cancerous tumors. As the recipient of the 2015 Varis Trust Award for Women’s Leadership and Health, Dr. Ofner has continued his research on the drug delivery system for the treatment of breast cancer.

An accomplished researcher who has been widely published and nationally respected, Dr. Ofner has been featured in more than 20 papers in prominent, peer-reviewed professional journals in the areas of pharmaceutics and drug delivery. Many of these publications were co-authored by his USciences’ graduate students—which demonstrates his great value as a teacher and an advisor.

Dr. Ofner’s unwavering commitment to educating future science and healthcare leaders is evident, as he takes on a number of undergraduate students in his research lab each semester. He has also received nine research fellowships for undergraduate and graduate students, and mentored many graduate and doctorate students to quickly become independent scientists.

Dr. Ofner, who resides in Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, earned his doctorate and bachelor’s degrees from Temple University. He is also a licensed pharmacist in Pennsylvania as well as a member of Rho Chi—the national honor society of pharmacy, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and the American Pharmaceutical Association.

Each year, Founders’ Day at USciences recognizes its establishment on Feb. 23, 1821, as Philadelphia College of Pharmacy — the first college of pharmacy in North America, which is now a part of USciences. As part of the ceremony, an honorary degree of science was presented to alumnus Dinesh C. Patel MS'75, PhD, an entrepreneur and philanthropist who holds 15 patents worldwide, as well as founded and invested in more than 20 biotechnology and information technology companies. For more information, visit the University’s Founders’ Day webpage.

From left to right: Dr. Frederick T. Schaefer, faculty senate president; Dr. Clyde M. Ofner, III, professor of pharmaceutics, who received the 2016 Faculty Award of Merit; Marvin Samson HonAlm’96, board of trustees chairman; and Kathleen R. Mayes P’76, PharmD’78, interim president. Credit: Ellis Photography/University of the Sciences

Categories: News, Feature Story, President, Faculty, Awards and Honors, Event, Leadership, Research, Academics, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Pharmacy, Pharmacy Administration