American Chemical Society Names USciences Student Group an Outstanding Chapter

By Jenna Pizzi

The American Chemical Society student chapter at USciences has been selected to receive an Outstanding Chapter Award for its activities.

The ACS Student Chapter at USciences was named as an outstanding chapter

(Left to right) Aaron Hogan, Bryan Figula, Atithi Patel, Joey Harmon, Courtney Vander Pyl, Joseph Duffield, Oleg Davydovich, and Co-Advisors Catherine Bentzley and Vanessa Jones.

The USciences chapter was selected from a group of more than 400 student groups from around the country. It was named among 46 honored as outstanding, the highest award. The Society Committee on Education (SOCED) selects Student chapters to receive special recognition on the basis of their programs and activities, as described in their chapter reports. 

The chapter is led by faculty advisors Catherine Bentzley PhD, associate professor of chemistry, and Vanessa Jones, assistant to the chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

“Few faculty members are willing to make the great commitment of time and energy that a successful chapter requires,” said Dr. Donna Nelson, 2016 president of the American Chemical Society. “Professor Bentzley and Ms. Jones’ efforts certainly represent the best in undergraduate science education and mentoring around the country.”

The chapter will be recognized at the 253rd ACS National Meeting in San Francisco, CA on Sunday April 2, 2017.

Categories: News, Students, Awards and Honors, Department of Chemistry, Chemistry