Close Alert

Return to Campus Update

Coronavirus (COVID-19): The latest updates about USciences return to campus: The full plan for a phased return of employees and students:

Dr. Andrew Peterson Elected a Fellow of The College of Physicians of Philadelphia

By Brian Kirschner

Andrew PetersonAndrew Peterson, PharmD, PhD’09, John Weyth Dean of Mayes College of Healthcare Business and Policy at University of the Sciences, was elected a fellow of The College of Physicians of Philadelphia. He joined the ranks of some 1,500 innovative leaders elected for their distinguished contributions to scientific medicine, medical education, and public health. 

Formally inducted at a ceremony on November 20, 2015, Dr. Peterson signed the historic register of fellows, dating back to 1787, that includes America’s first neurologist Silas Weir Mitchell, former Surgeon General C. Everett Koop, Joseph Lister (regarded as the founder of antiseptic medicine), and Benjamin Rush, MD (who signed the United States Declaration of Independence). The College of Physicians is not an academic organization, as the name suggests, but a not-for-profit educational and cultural institution, with the mission of advancing the cause of health while upholding the ideals and heritage of medicine.

Dr. Peterson has more than 25 years research experience in medication compliance, pharmacy management, health and drug use policy, and more recently, medications in the environment. His accomplishments are wide ranging: he has produced a large body of research and scholarly work, created innovative programming, and secured significant grant dollars. He is known for his commitment to mentoring others and fostering success; recognitions include several awards for excellence in teaching and for learning innovation.

He earned his BS in pharmacy from Rutgers University, his PharmD from Virginia Commonwealth University, and his PhD in health policy at USciences. He also completed an advanced residency in hospital pharmacy administration at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital and a residency in hospital pharmacy practice from Rush-Presbyterian St. Luke’s Medical Center in Chicago.

Dr. Peterson joins the ranks of fellows who are associated with USciences: George E. Downs PharmD’72, dean emeritus of the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy; Professor of Health Policy and Public Health Amalia Issa, PhD, MPH; former President Philip P. Gerbino P’69, PharmD’70; Professor of Clinical Pharmacy Sarah A. Spinler, PharmD; and former faculty member Ilene Warner-Maron, MA, PhD’07.

Categories: News, Announcement, Faculty, Awards and Honors, Academics, Leadership, Mayes College, Department of Health Policy, Health Policy, Public Health