USciences Physics Society Wins National Recognition as Outstanding Chapter for Two Straight Years

Published on February 6, 2018

USciences SPS officersThe USciences chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the national SPS Office and the American Institute of Physics. This is the second straight year that the chapter has been recognized nationally for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 10 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics. SPS operated within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

The SPS chapter at USciences is advised by Associate Professor of Physics Dr. Roberto Ramos, who also received a Runner Up Award for the 2016-2017 Outstanding SPS Advisor Award, and is led by student officers.

The 2016-17 officers are: 

  •  Katee O'Malley (President), Phys'17
  • Kacy Catalano (Vice-President), Phys'17
  • Luke Conover (Treasurer), Phys'17
  • Oberon Wackwitz (SGA Rep), Phys'17
  • Caitlyn McConnell (Publicity Rep), Phys'18 BMS'18

Categories:  StudentsMisher College of Arts and SciencesDepartment of Mathematics Physics and StatisticsPhysics