Please ignore this javascript. This is for analytics tracking. June 2017 PCP News | University of the Sciences

June 2017 PCP News

Published on June 28, 2017

Asha Suryanarayanan, PhD, was awarded a Milton Lev Memorial Faculty Research Fund grant for her proposal titled “Mechanisms of neuroimmune crosstalk between GABA type A and IL‐10 receptor families”.

The Philadelphia College of Pharmacy Script Your Future Team led by faculty Charrell Porter, PharmD, and student leader Anika Fanlo PharmD’19 was awarded the 2017 Rookie Award for the team’s success in the Script Your Future National Medication Adherence Team Challenge.  The team message reached over 15,000 people through hosting 17 community events in the mere nine-week challenge window between January and March of 2017. 

On Monday, June 12, 2017 in the STC-Atrium, John Gans P66, PharmD’69, HonDSc’08, Thomas O’Connor P’70, PharmD’71, MBA, Henry Schwartz P’70, PharmD, and Steve Sheaffer P’75, PharmD’78 were celebrated at a retirement reception.  We wish them the very best in their retirement.

The PCP Dean’s Awards were awarded on Monday, June 12 to Pardeep Gupta MS’84, PhD, and Angela Bingham, PharmD, for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activity.  Laura Waite, PharmD, was awarded Excellence in Service and Lisa Charneski, PharmD, was awarded Excellence in Teaching. Peter Harvison, PhD, received the award for the Student’s Choice for Teacher of the Year, and Diane Hadley, PharmD, is the 2016-17 AACP Teacher of the Year.

Swartz BabyMichelle, Bradley, and Jesse Swartz, the Director of the StEPP (Student Excellence in Professional Preparation) co-curricular program, welcomed a new member to their family on June 1. Willem Richard Swartz is home, doing well, and getting used to life as a little brother.

Incoming, Interim Dean Pat Audet P'76, PharmD'78 hosted a PCP retreat on June 14. The retreat’s sessions focused on the questions of James Ryan’s book “Wait, What” and prompted a great deal of positive conversation amongst the faculty and staff. Thank you to all who attended and participated in the recent event.

Categories:  Department of Pharmaceutical SciencesAwards and HonorsPhiladelphia College of PharmacyDepartment of Pharmacy Practice and AdministrationPublicationPharmaceuticsResearchFacultyEventGrantPharmacy