| Home  |  About  |  President's Commission on Sustainability
Sustainability Commission

President's Commission on Sustainability

This commission was charged with enhancing sustainable practices across the entire campus community.

Sustainability: “Sustainability is based on a simple principle: Everything that we need for our survival and well-being depends, either directly or indirectly, on our natural environment.  Sustainability creates and maintains the conditions under which humans and nature can exist in productive harmony, that permit fulfilling the social, economic and other requirements of present and future generations.” Source: EPA

Stewardship: Stewardship is the responsibility of overseeing and protecting our community and the environment with minimal impact for present and future generations.


The mission of the President’s Commission on Sustainability is to integrate sustainability and stewardship into all aspects of campus life and the community.


  1. Promote sustainability in personal and institutional choices.
  2. Educate our campus and the community-at-large about environmental, social, and economic issues affecting sustainability.
  3. Foster a culture of sustainability and stewardship practices.

Members of the Commission

  • Julie Becker, Health Policy and Public Health, Mayes College of Healthcare Business and Policy
  • Phyllis Blumberg, Teaching & Learning Center
  • Bernadette Kelly, Dean’s Office, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
  • John Masciantonio, Information Technology
  • Bonnie Packer, Human Resources
  • Donna Ryan, Academic Technology
  • Dan Severino, Facilities Services
  • Kevin Wolbach, Dean’s Office, Misher College of Arts & Sciences
  • Todd Young, Dining Services (Sodexo)


Check out these photosMLK Day

Check out these photosDrug Take Back

© 2016 University of the Sciences in Philadelphia • 600 South 43rd Street • Philadelphia, PA 19104 • 215.596.8800