| Home  |  News and Events  |  News Story  


PCP Students, Faculty, Alumni Recognized at NJPhA Convention
Posted: Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Written By:  Grace Earl, PharmD
Contact:  Lauren Whetzel
Contact Email:  l.whetzel@usciences.edu
Contact Phone:  215-596-8864
The Philadelphia College of Pharmacy’s students, faculty, and alumni were well represented at the 2013 New Jersey Pharmacists Association (NJPhA) Convention held in Atlantic City on Oct. 3-5.

Grace Earl, PharmD, assistant professor of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administration, was awarded the Donald J. Wernik Academic Achievement Award – which is presented to a pharmacist in higher academe who has performed outstanding service for the profession at large.  Dr. Earl has co-chaired the Student Practitioner Committee for the past year, attended Advocacy Day in Trenton, N.J., and also coordinated the College Bowl competition. Moreover, Dr. Earl worked with the PCP group to coordinate the 2013 Spring Student Practitioner Newsletter.  The award was presented to Dr. Earl by PCP alumna Carrie Corboy PharmD’99, current president of NJPhA, and Joe Tarallo, past president (as seen in the picture to the upper left).
PCP alumni were also honored at the convention, as the new leadership for 2014 was also announced at the meeting. Dr. Corboy, director of training and compliance at Johnson & Johnson, will serve as president of NJPhA in 2014, while Moriah Weissman PharmD’09, will serve as current vice president.  Lastly, Steve Zlotnick P’77, PharmD, CCP, adjunct clinical professor, was awarded the Lifetime Service Award for his consistent record of service to the association in many areas.
The convention also catered to current pharmacy students as students from PCP, Temple University, Rutgers University, Long Island University, Fairleigh Dickinson University, and St. Johns University joined the roundtable discussions with the theme, "Your first six months..." This theme allowed facilitators to share insights on what students should expect in their first six months of advanced pharmacy practice experience rotations and residencies.  Matt Ciapetta PharmD’15, student leader of the University’s NJPhA student group, led the discussion, "Leadership on Campus." Alumna Loren Martinez PharmD’13, pharmacist at Walgreen's Pharmacy, also led the discussion “Developing a Curriculum Vitae.” 
Twelve students competed in the preliminary round for the National Alliance of Pharmacy Association (NASPA) “Know Pain, Know Gain” pain competition.  Representing the University, included Ron Brown, PharmD’15 and Matt Ciapetta PharmD’15.  The final event of the convention was the "Pharmacy Student competition - College Bowl."  In this competition, teams from each college competed for the honor of the award.  Students representing PCP included, from left to right:  Waqar Akhtar PharmD’14, Matt Ciapetta PharmD’15, Ron Brown PharmD’15, Ric Boparai PharmD’15, and Lea Posa PharmD’15. Students from Long Island University won this year’s trophy, and they will hold the championship title until next year.


News and Events News Archive  
© 2013 University of the Sciences in Philadelphia • 600 South 43rd Street • Philadelphia, PA 19104 • 215.596.8800
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Datatel, Inc.