Lecture Syllabus

1. The scope of microbiology
2. Techniques for observing microorganisms - I
3. Techniques for observing microorganisms - II
4. Classification of bacteria
5. Anatomy and chemical composition - I
6. Anatomy and chemical composition - II
7. Cultivation - I
8. Cultivation - II
9. Growth
10. Variations
11. Genetic recombination

12. Control of microorganisms
13. Physical methods - heat
14. Physical methods - other
15. Chemical methods - protein coagulation
16. Chemical methods - non- specific chemical
17. Chemical methods - lipoprotein membrane
18. Chemical methods - cell wall, antimetabolites
19. Chemical methods - protein and nucleic acid

20. Disease production -transmission
21. Disease production - entry, incubation,
22. Disease production - symptoms, portals of
23. Defense mechanisms against disease - I
24. Defense mechanisms against disease - II
25. Mycobacteria - I
26. Mycobacteria - II, Leprosy, Corynebacterium
27. Staphylococcosis
28. Streptococcosis
29. Bacillus,Clostridium and Mycoplasma

30. Spirochetes- I
31. Spirochetes- II
32. Neisseria - I
33. Neisseria - II
34. Pseudomonas and related organisms
35. Salmonellosis, Shigellosis
36. Escherichia and Klebsiella
37. Proteus and Haemophilus
38. Rickettsia and Chlamydia
39. Viruses - I
40. Viruses - II
41. Fungi
42. Protozoal
43. Helminths

Lecture: Four examinations will be given, 100 points each, based on reading assignments, and lectures, for a total of 400 points. Multiple choice, short answer, essay and other types of questions may be utilized. NO GRADES WILL BE DROPPED.

Laboratory: The lab grade will be discussed in lab.

Lecture grade = 75% of final grade.

Laboratory grade = 25% of final grade

Grade equivalency
97-100 A+ 
93-96 A 
90-92 A- 
87-89 B+
83-86 B
80-82 B-
77-79 C+
73-76 C
70-72 C-
67-69 D+
63-66 D
60-62 D-
< 60 F

Attendance is not required for lecture. It is required for lab, and the requirements for lab attendance will be discussed during the first prelab lecture.

Exam questions will assess students at various cognitive levels as outlined below:

TAXONOMY OF EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES: THE COGNITIVE DOMAIN. Modified from Bloom, B. (ed.) 1956. Taxonomy of educational objectives, Handbook 1: Cognitive domain. New York:McKay. (Hoffmann, R. and McGuire, S. Y. 2010. Learning and teaching strategies. American Scientist 98 (5), 378-382)

Level One: Basic Knowledge (Remembering)
Definition: Students know specific facts, terms,
and methods.

Level two: Comprehension (Understanding)
Definition: Students must show they understand
the materials, ideas, facts, and theories.
Students restate the material in their own words.

Level Three: Application (Applying)
Students must be able to demonstrate their knowledge to real situations.

Level Four: Analysis (Compare)
Students must be able to classify to break material down into its components, understand the relationship between the components, and recognize the principle that organizes the structure or the system.

Level Five
: Evaluation (Judge)
Students will be able to evaluate information and ideas according to established or created standards of judgement.

Level Six: Synthesis (Creating)
Students bring ideas together to form new ideas, methods, or procedures.